What is Panchaang?

·        “Pancha” meaning five and “Ang” meaning parts, so this gives us “Five Parts”.

·        This is five parts describing the day.

·        1st Part – THITHI (Lunar day – describes the day with respect to phase of the moon). There are 30 Thithis in a month. See below for a further explaination.

·        2ND Part – VAAR (Day – In English -Sunday, Monday, Tuesday etc. In Hindi – Ravivaar, Somvaar, Mangalvaar).

·        3rd Part – NAKSHATRA – (Constellation – there are 27 Nakshatras)

·        4th Part – YOG – (Sun-Moon combination – 27 Yog)

·        5th Part -  KARANA – (half of Thithi)

The above five parts are sometimes accompanied by other relevant data that astrologers and priests use in their calculations for auspicious times etc. This data may include :

·        Sunrise and Sunset times

·        Moon rise and Moon set times.

·        Rahukala – ( inauspicious period of day)

·        Yamagandam – (also inauspicious period of day. Yamaganda is the son of Guru(Jupiter) ).

·        Gulika Kalam – (also inauspicious period. (Son of Manda or Shani(Saturn)).

·        Abhijit – (Sri Vishnu’s time) – auspicious time to be used if there is no other suitable good time.

·        Chogadia Table – (auspicious period to start new work or travelling)

·        Lagna Table – ( the rising sign on the eastern horizon of a particular location(longitude/latitude) at a specific time.

·        Eclipse information

Please remember that Panchaang details must be calculated for the particular place that it is being used. Which means that India Panchaangs cannot be used anywhere else in the world and certainly not here in South Africa. Sunrise and sunset times are different in all parts of the world, so too would the various parts of the Panchaang change as well. Astrologers and priests in South Africa must calculate the above data for the location concerned.

Times given in our Panchaang for Rahukala, Yamagandam and Gulika Kalam show start and end times.

Also, please note that the weekdays in Hindu Astrology, commence at sunrise of the location and ends at  next sunrise and not from midnight to midnight.


Muhurtha is the most auspicious or suitable time that one can choose for occasions and religious ceremonies, weddings, house warming, etc. Avoiding Rahukala, Yamagandam, Gulika Kalam, etc. and only selecting the auspicious Thithis  and Nakshatras for these observances is known by astrologers and priests as selecting a Muhurtha.

A single muhurtha lasts 48 minutes or 2 “ghatis”

When starting any type of good work follow these general rules:

General Good Days : Monday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday

General Good Thithis :

a.      Shukla Dwitiya

b.      Shukla Tritiya

c.      Shukla Panchami

d.      Shukla Dasami

e.      Shukla Ekadasi

f.        Shukla Trayodasi

g.      Krishna Pratipat

     General  Thithis to avoid :

a.      Amavasya

b.      Krishna Trayodasi

c.      Krishna Chaturdasi

d.      Shukla Pratipat

Avoid these Nakshatras :

a.      Bharani

b.      Krittika

Avoid these Yog:

6 – 9 – 10 – 17 – 27

Avoid these Karana :


Auspicious Wedding Days :

All days (Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday) are good.

    These Thithis are not good for weddings :

a.      Rikta Thithi – 4, 9, 14

b.      Amavasya

c.      Krishna Trayodasi

d.      Shukla Pratipat

     All other Thithis should be suitable.

These Nakshatras are suitable for weddings :

a.      Rohini

b.      Mrigashirsha

c.      Magha (except first Ό pada)

d.      U. Phalguni

e.      Hasta

f.        Swati

g.      Anuradha

h.      Mula

i.        U.Asadha

j.         U. Bhadrapada

k.      Revati (except last Ό pada)

Avoid Eclipse days for any good work ,weddings, moving house, buying vehicles , etc.

More info. will be added here soon………………….

Request info. from us if you do not find it here :